Accessibility Tools

Louise I Stiver

August 06, 2018

2017–2018 Award Winners

9389a10aa827004f79c4f63dbe307fd3 S


2018 Colorado Book Award, Anthology

Beautiful Flesh: A Body of Essays

edited by Stephanie G'Schwind








fb1b898795e1f1c82709b54a45a74e9d S


2017 Computers and Composition Distinguished Book Award

Cámera Retórica: A Feminist Filmmaking Methodology for Rhetoric and Composition

Alexandra Hidalgo










cf49894574ceef71e04946b662895a8c S


2017 Southwest Book of the Year

Navajo Textiles: The Crane Collection at the Denver Museum of Nature & Science

Laurie D. Webster, Louise I. Stiver, D. Y. Begay, and Lynda Teller Pete








edf4c84cd0a3933355eec5cd16a9ed2d S


2017 Arizona Literary Award (Published Nonfiction)

New Mexico and the Pimería Alta: The Colonial Period in the American Southwest

edited by John G. Douglass and William M. Graves









87b1b3b74c11543f31520df0522706cd S


2018 Council for Writing Program Administration Best Book Award

Reclaiming Accountability: Improving Writing Programs through Accreditation and Large-Scale Assessments

edited by Wendy Sharer, Tracy Ann Morse, Michelle F. Eble, and William P. Banks







300f12b031d46cde664ed2fb984c4c74 S


2017 Choice Outstanding Academic Title

Relating to Rock Art in the Contemporary World: Navigating Symbolism, Meaning, and Significance

edited by Liam M. Brady and Paul S. C. Taçon








446f4fe6ef4f25b5f1cbd0e741da76b3 S


2017 Choice Outstanding Academic Book

"The Touch of Civilization": Comparing American and Russian Internal Colonization

Steven Sabol









081e8c5764bd56b44c2247712b2a1d08 S


2017 International Writing Centers Association Outstanding Book Award

The Working Lives of New Writing Center Directors

edited by Nicole I. Caswell, Jackie Grutsch McKinney, and Rebecca Jackson







 c7f06923f7757ccddc9a4a0717631f6c S

2018 Excellence in Scholarship award, University of Wisconsin-Superior

Writing Program Architecture: Thirty Cases for Reference and Research

edited by Bryna Siegel Finer and Jamie White-Farnham







August 06, 2018

In Focus

cf49894574ceef71e04946b662895a8c S

Navajo Textiles

Winner of the Southwest Book Award for 2017, this beautifully illustrated work is the result of multiple collaborations. The book was published jointly by the University Press of Colorado and the Denver Museum of Nature & Science, and the text was written by a team of scholars (Laurie Webster and Louise Stiver) and active Navajo weavers (D. Y. Begay and Lynda Teller Pete). As is the case with most natural history institutions, the Denver Museum of Nature & Science has the space to display only a small fraction of the material objects in its full collection. The publication of Navajo Textiles presents a wider range of the stunning Navajo weavings contained in the Crane Collection—one of the largest collections of Navajo textiles in the world—to a larger audience than the small group of scholars who might normally access the full assembly.  The Denver Museum of Nature & Science hosted two different events for the general public highlighting both the book and samples from the collections, one in October and a second in April. Both were well attended, and gave the public the opportunity to learn more from both the scholars who study these textiles as well as the weavers who continue to produce new work today.




Cámara Retórica

This publication, winner of the 2017 Computers and Composition Distinguished Book Award, is bit different of a departure for us, in that this non-traditional book consists of six video essays, or chapters, that connect film and video production, feminist filmmaking, and Rhetoric and Composition. A collaborative effort of Utah State University Press and the Computers and Composition Digital Press, Alexandra Hidalgo's Cámara Retórica is openly available as an online publication on the CCDP website. Click on the trailer to the right to learn more!




4b891d503665d0267998694152b3b8a7 S

A History of Mortgage Banking in the West

The financial collapse of 2008, although a decade past, is still very much present in the minds of many who worry about the underlying strength of the market today. Given that the Great Recession was driven by bad bets in the subprime mortgage market, why not write a history of mortgage banking in Colorado and the West? That is exactly what mortgage banker Mike Rosser and historian Diane Sanders did, with support along the way from the Public Lands History Center at Colorado State University. The combination of Sanders's writing talents and historical knowledge with Rosser's exceptional insider knowledge of the mortgage banking industry produced a highly readable and entertaining book on a subjed that might not obviously be either of those things at first blush. You can hear Mike Rosser talk about the book on Devil's Advocate with Jon Caldara and read more about the book in the Colorado Real Estate Journal.









February 24, 2017

Louise I. Stiver

Louise I. Stiver is a museum consultant specializing in research and content development and the former senior curator of the New Mexico History Museum/Palace of the Governors.

Published in Authors
Tagged under
August 06, 2018

Our Supporters

Grants and Donations

The University Press of Colorado is a 501(c)3 nonprofit membership organization that relies on the ongoing support of its members, as well as funds from other institutions, granting agencies, and individuals, to fulfill our mandate as a scholarly publisher. We thank the following institutions and individuals for their generous contributions to our publishing program this year.


Contributions toward the University Press of Colorado Endowment Fund: 


Director's Circle 2017–2018 ($500+ annually)

 John F. Freeman
 Laura Furney
 Joyce Kinkead
 Darrin Pratt
 Don S. and Prudence M. Rice
 Mike Rosser

Friends of the Press 2017–2018 ($100+ annually)

Anthony F. Aveni Anis Bawarshi Catherine Cameron Richard W. Clement
Bradford Cole Catherine DiCesare James Drake Nancy Gonlin
Scott Hutson Suzanne Macaulay John Marston Barbara Mills
Michael Palmquist Jason Pierce Bonnie Pitblado Payson Sheets

2017–2018 Donors

Rick A. Adams Linda Adler-Kassner Arturo Aldama Dean E Arnold
Marilyn Bell Michel Besson Marc Blainey Richard Blanton
Jelena Bogdanovic Ann Brady Galen Brokaw Robert H Brunswig
David M. Carballo Ellen C. Carillo Beth Chavez Margaret Coel
Chip Colwell Barbara Couture Jessica d'Arbonne Russ Tobias Davidson
Amy E Dayton John Douglass Sybil Downing Alexander Drummond
Alcira Duenas E Paul Durrenberger James Fitzgerald Elizabeth A. Flynn
Sarah R Graff Eulogio Guzmán Debora Hammond Alexandra Hidalgo
Lane R. Hirabayashi Deborah H. Holdstein Bruce Horner Thomas Huber
Eric E. Jones Arthur Joyce P. Nick Kardulias Roger K. Kjelgren
C. H. Knoblauch Marcel Kornfeld Barry Kroll Lisa Langstraat
R. Todd Laugen Jongsoo Lee Kelly Lenkevich Kerry Lightenburger
Matthew Looper Jean A Luckowski Moira Marsh Sidney Eve Matrix
Dan Miller Darrel G. Morrison Holley Moyes Olaus Murie
Heather Orr Gisli Palsson Rebecca Prentice Timothy Pugh
Ben Rafoth Todd Ruecker Steve Sabol Jeffrey Safford
Bettina Schultz Clark Secrest Faith Shearin Lynn Sikkink
John Sillito Patricia Sotirin Jim Steenburgh Charlotte Steinhardt
John A Straayer April Summitt Ruth M. Van Dyke William A. Varga
Nicole Wallack Nancy Welch



Contributions toward the General Fund: 

2017–2018 Donors

Karin Larkin
Rachael Levay
Jared Orsi
Daniel Pratt
Beth Svinarich



Member Institutions

Ongoing support for the publishing program at the University Press of Colorado is provided by the following sustaining members:

University Press of Colorado University of Alaska Press Utah State University Press University of Wyoming Press